Yes, Mother. I can see you are flawed. You have not hidden it. That is your greatest gift to me.

I’ve been going through my photos from the holidays. They aren’t exactly spectacular, but they’re full of love and family. My mom actually made it down to visit me for the holidays, which was really special. My mother is really charming. She’s tall, confident and beautiful! There’s one really funny thing about my mother though, she can’t take a good picture! It’s sort of become this funny thing over the years with my family. We love to take her picture even though we know she’s going to be midsentence, midbloink, midsomething! I feel confident I can post one of her flub photos because she isn’t computer literate and has no idea I keep a blog (or perhaps what a blog is???)

… SO….

(shhh, don’t tell her I did this)

LOL! That makes me laugh even though it must be the the 500th photo like this I’ve seen over the years.

I didn’t post this though, to make my mom look bad. Remember, she’s beautiful and charming and one of my best friends on the planet. I actually only mentioned it because I wanted to post a beautiful photo of my mother and have you all understand how special it is.

It’s really not exactly a glamour shot of her, it’s more a photo that to me captured her at her best: being a lover of children. She’s never looked more beautiful to me!

Ending with a quote from one of my favorite authors.

Yes, Mother. I can see you are flawed. You have not hidden it. That is your greatest gift to me.” ¬†-Alice Walker

