My Time in Kauai

Those of you who know me, know my real love is Latin America, so of course I wanted to go there for my honeymoon. But no, my wonderful, loving father gifted us a honeymoon in Hawaii. I had mixed feelings going into it because I really feel like the wealth disparity in Hawaii is upsetting and I worried a lot about how to travel on the island and shop without participating in crazy amounts of cultural appropriation. Well, the trip was really fun! We were able to support many local businesses instead of large tourism companies and I only got a little sunburnt! I didn’t take too many photos (because my camera is huge, the weather is hot, and who’s going to watch your camera while you’re swimming in the ocean?), so instead, I mostly LIVED the vacation. Here are a few of the shots I did take:

On a catamaran tour of the Napali coast I saw my very first group of Dolphins! There must have been 20 of them, but one them was a wee little baby! Heres the mom and babe.

Image

This photo is from the valley where the african village from Outbreak was built and burnt down.

Image

This is King Kong Mountain, which is also also visible in many Hollywood movies.

Image

This is the beach where the pilot, or “the lost episode” of Gilligans Island was filmed.

Image

The most amazing place in Kauai to visit is called Waimea Canyon, or “The Grand Canyon of the Pacific.” Unfortunately, a wildbrush fire burned all week while we were visiting and all the roads were closed. So, No canyon pictures! I did make off with a few wildfire pictures though.

Image

Thats probably enough for today! Thanks for taking the time to stop by ❤

